Pumpkin Spice. Advice Needed.

I can’t figure out the pumpkin-spice-flavored-everything trend that explodes every fall.  This weekend we were at Barnes & Nobel and I saw a sign for their pumpkin spice coffees at Starbucks so I grabbed a Frappuccino for us to split since it was a warm day.  At first sip I thought “Not bad” as I shrugged my shoulders at Forest when he asked what I thought.  I didn’t disapprove but I wasn’t blown away.  As I continued to sip, I was less and less impressed.  The spice was overwhelming and left a funny after-taste.  Needless to say, we didn’t even finish half of the drink and the money was not well spent.

This wasn’t our first go-around with Starbucks’ pumpkin spice.  Last year Forest picked up a pumpkin spice latte after running errands one Saturday and, although we finished it, it didn’t knock our socks off.  I can’t figure out what all the hype is about.  Should we tweak something in the way we order a pumpkin spice coffee drink?  Should we ask them to add a little something extra?  I [almost] desperately want to enjoy the pumpkin coffee in the fall. This is my favorite season – watching the leaves change, wearing your favorite hoodie, putting on your most comfortable pair of boots, wrapping your scarf an extra time to keep warm, layering with sweaters, breathing the crisp air, bundling up to watch flag football on a Saturday morning – and I want to enjoy this one little thing as well.

So I need your advice!  What should I do differently?  Should I try somewhere besides Starbucks?  Should I make my coffee at home and try a creamer instead?  What are your recommendations when it comes to pumpkin spice coffee?  How do you order your pumpkin spice coffee?

Until next time — Cindy

P.S. I’m in the process of brainstorming a new sign off for my posts (my mom voted on one for Forest and said she liked it because “just your name is boring.”  After informing her that my sign off was just my name she said “well yours is ok.”)  So how’s this one, mom?  Less boring? ;)

photo source

Leave a Reply

