Recipe: Potato Soup

I have a recipe to share today!  It was originally given to me from my grandma’s friend, Joyce, just a few years ago.  I remember sitting at my grandma’s kitchen table and scrambling for a piece of paper as Joyce rattled off the ingredients for her potato soup.  She gave the recipe to me again at my bridal shower.  Everyone that was invited was asked to bring their favorite family recipe and this soup was hers – I think she remembers how frantically I tried to find paper when she told me her recipe just a few short months before. :)  And I’m sharing it today because it was on our weekly meal planner this week, my choice, and because it is perfect timing as Mother Nature has decided to remind us it’s still winter.

IMAG2267

Ingredients:

6-8 potatoes

1 can each of the following:  cream of potato, cheese soup, cream of celery

Velveeta cheese (1/2 box)

Milk

 

Directions:

Dice the potatoes into chunks (we do small to medium so they cook faster) and add to big pot.  Add enough milk to just cover the potatoes.  Add the 3 cans of soup (potato, cheese, and celery).  Put on low heat while cutting the Velveeta into small cubes.  Add Velveeta and continue to simmer, covered, until potatoes are tender, stirring occasionally.  Approximately 30 minutes.  Dish into bowls and top with anything you like!  We keep it super simple with just black pepper and shredded cheddar cheese!

(Yes, Forest always eats a piece of bread with peanut butter with potato soup.  Am I the only one that thinks he’s weird?)

We haven’t tried it but I would assume using a crock-pot would give similar results – cubed potatoes with milk to cover, 3 cans of soup and Velveeta on low for several hours should do the trick!

This is enough for us to each have a bowl at dinner with 2-3 leftover bowls.  Sometimes we’ll just put it all into 1 Tupperware bowl and freeze for a later date, especially if we know the weather is going to be chilly the next week.  Forest was skeptical about potato soup when I first made it but he loves it now.  Which makes me happy because I love it too!

Until next time — Cindy

Leave a Reply

