History

This morning I was convicted.  Big time.

Yesterday I was looking into the book “The Auschwitz Escape” by Joel Rosenburg.  I have seen it in the bookstore at our church.  I read the first few pages and the author’s note at the end on Amazon and was completely intrigued.  I really enjoy books (and movies, if I’m being completely honest.  I could spend a whole day watching a marathon of “Band of Brothers”) that are based on historical facts.

“The Auschwitz Escape” is just that.  It’s a fictional story of Christian men that were trying to escape from Auschwitz to warn the Allies about what was happening to the Jews.

I even left the tab open on my computer at work so I could remember to tell Forest about the book.

This morning, on my way to work, I heard this chorus from the Newsboys:

“We believe in God the Father

We believe in Jesus Christ

We believe in the Holy Spirit

And He’s given us new life.

We believe in the crucifixion

We believe that He conquered death

We believe in the resurrection

And He’s coming back again.”

I’ve heard this song before and I love it.  My brain started running circles and my train of thought was random and everywhere.

I love this song. I’m so glad I made enough coffee for two cups this morning.  I’m probably gonna take a nap after dinner tonight.  But I really need to read my Bible.. I’m so far behind and I didn’t read last night.  Oh yeah, don’t forget to tell Forest about “The Auschwitz Escape”.  I wonder how much it costs at church?  I really do like those historical books.  And this is by a Christian author.  History.. Stories.. My Bible.. Isn’t it funny how people think the Bible is full of ‘stories’ but all of those things actually happened.  If only more people knew that those aren’t just stories…

And then it hit me!

My Bible IS history!  It’s just like one of those historical books I want to read!  And reading my Bible will draw me closer to God, to Jesus Christ, to the Holy Spirit!  Isn’t that what we’ve been learning during our home groups!  Isn’t that what I JUST learned during the women’s retreat!  I need to be excited about reading my Bible!  I can read “The Auschwitz Escape” anytime but I need to be spending time in my Bible and with Christ.”

Thank you, Jesus, for that conviction.  I truly and honestly needed it. 

The theme of the women’s retreat I went to over the weekend was “She shall not be moved” and we focused on Psalm 46:5.

“God is in the midst of her; she shall not be moved; God will help her when morning dawns.”

As women (and men, too) we let a lot of little things move us:  A ‘busy schedule’ that gives us an excuse to skip reading our Bible.  A relationship that throws us off track.  A conversation not meant to hurt us but that we mull over for days and wonder what the person really meant.  A disappointment that we can’t let go of and grow bitter about.  A phone call that didn’t give us the news we wanted to hear.

If we know where to stand (on a strong foundation of Jesus Christ), who stands beside us (God and His holiness), and remember God’s holiness, then we shall not be moved.

To know these things, though, we need to spend time reading our Bibles and having a relationship with our Lord and Savior.

Reading other books isn’t a bad thing.  Of course not, our minds grow and we learn new things when we read books.  But personally, I want to be as excited to read the Bible as I am to read other books.

I started to write this post just about the conviction I felt this morning but as I’m typing I remember another time I was convicted about the same thing.

Forest and I are following a “read through the Bible in a year” schedule that we got at the beginning of the year from church.  We did really well with staying on schedule for the first 4 or 5 months.  But in the past few weeks we’ve fallen behind – not reading as many chapters as we should.  Sometime last week I told Forest how much we should have read by that day and we were a couple books behind schedule (not just a couple chapters but a couple books) but Forest was several chapters ahead of me.  As I grumbled and complained that I was never going to catch up to him, he asked “We might take more than 1 year to read through but that’s ok.  And I’ve been reading in the mornings as well as at night.  Aren’t you?”

Nope… No, I was not reading in the morning too.

This conviction wasn’t about staying on schedule to finish in a year or even about staying with Forest (although it’s nice when we’re reading the same things because it’s easier to talk about what we’re reading/learning).  Forest wasn’t trying to gloat that he was farther in his reading than I was (well, maybe a little, he’s competitive like that.  But he definitely didn’t say this to discourage me.)  I was being convicted that I was just reading to read and not getting to know God or spending time in His presence.  To really take in what I was reading, learning and growing.

Two convictions in two weeks – I think God is trying to tell me something.  I need to spend time with Him, to get to know Him through His Word (and the amazing history that it contains), because He wants to spend time with me!

Whew.

This is definitely different than what I normally post but it’s real, true and honest.  Maybe you are in the same situation, maybe not.  But if you are, I encourage you to keep reading or to pick up the Bible and start reading!  We have so much to learn, if only we would spend time in the Word.

 

Until next time — Cindy

Leave a Reply

