High Five for Friday

Happy Friday!  I hope ya’ll have had a wonderful week!  I know I have!  I’m just going to jump right into my high five’s (since my lunch break is almost over and I can’t think of a good intro. Excuses!)

[1] Last weekend I [finally] went to the local library.  It’s only about a 10 minute walk from our house but it was pouring outside (the best kind of day to spend the afternoon in the library) so I drove.  I got a library card, browsed the shelves, Googled some good books to read (they were all checked out or on hold), and then remembered I wanted to read J.K. Rowling’s books that she wrote under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith.  So I walked out with The Cuckoo’s Calling and I’ve read about 1/3 so far.

[2]  The weeknights seem to go by so quickly and have been less productive now that Indie is around.  BUT I love the memories we’re making: taking Indie outside to do her business when it’s pouring (Forest carried her since she didn’t want to walk on the deck, I carried the giant golf-sized-umbrella, and the two of us huddled under the umbrella while we waddled around the backyard trying to keep Indie covered as well), evening walks around the neighborhood have been fun even though it’s getting dark by 7:15 these days, secretly watching Forest and Indie play in the backyard when I get home from work is the cutest thing ever, and morning cuddle sessions in the recliner.

Evening walks around the neighborhood. #familytime #puppylove

A post shared by Captured By Cindy Photography (@cindy.johnson1112) on

[3]  We went to the beautiful wedding of two friends last Friday.  The venue was gorgeous, the weather was perfect, the cocktail hour had delicious food, and the reception was full of dancing and laughter.  Congratulations, Mr. and Mrs.!

Congratulations Mr & Mrs Brito!!

A post shared by Captured By Cindy Photography (@cindy.johnson1112) on

[4]  MY BIRTHDAY WAS WEDNESDAY!  Last year my birthday happened to land right in the middle of our Orlando vacation (which I’m in the middle of writing a post about).  This year we had dinner at a local diner, played in the backyard, chatted with my parents, and ate the cake that Forest made.  It was simple and it was the best.

Love this man. #husband #happybirthdaytome #26

A post shared by Captured By Cindy Photography (@cindy.johnson1112) on

If only we could all be in one picture at the same time. #IndieJohnson #familytime

A post shared by Captured By Cindy Photography (@cindy.johnson1112) on

[5]  A quick chat with Chansler, Leon and Shelby last night was great.  I can’t believe Chansler is 4.5 months old already!  And he’s lost a lot of the beautiful hair that he had [poor guy] but they said he has blonde peach fuzz growing.  He’s adorable and I can’t wait to hold him again.  I’ve already been thinking of fun Christmas gifts to get him!

The weather this week has been cool – high’s of 75.  I mentioned before that I’m not ready to let summer go yet (I feel like we didn’t do everything we wanted to, we didn’t go to the beach often, we didn’t swim in the pool enough, blah blah blah) but I loooooove autumn.  So I’m slowly opening my arms to welcome autumn with a great big bear-hug.  I’ve traded sandals and shorts for my favorite capris and flats.  I decided last night that I can put away the swimsuits and beach towels and replace them with jackets and hoodies.  Forest’s parents sent an autumn car-freshener with my birthday card so that will replace the Hawaiian scent I currently have in there.  I can’t wait to plan some day trips to different places to see the leaves that changed colors and breathe in the crisp autumn air.  Forest isn’t ready for fall – he had the heated seats on in the car on our way to church Sunday and he bundles up in a hoodie and blanket every morning because he “really doesn’t like the cold.”

Forest’s family (his mom, grandma and grandpa) is currently on the road to visit us this week.  We’re pretty excited for them to see the house!  His grandma is bringing a cake – she makes the best cakes.  Who am I kidding, she makes the best everything!  Amanda flies in on Tuesday evening and we’ll be going to a Yankee’s game on Wednesday to see Jeter play one last time.  I’m sure this week will go by entirely too fast but we’ll enjoy their company, no doubt about it!

And I’m adding this in here too because this is about our lives and, while we don’t feel  happy and care-free right now, I want to remember because one day we’ll be able to look back and see how far we’ve come.  We’ll see how far God has brought all of us.  My mom met her oncologist on Wednesday and her treatment plan is 6 rounds of chemo, one round every three weeks.  Honestly, I [personally] feel relieved now that they have a plan of attack.  I feel like we’ve done a lot of waiting (for one doctor to get back from vacation, for another doctor to call, for the appointment day to finally come) but now that things are in motion it feels like a few weights have been lifted.  I don’t know if my mom feels the same way but she’s a strong woman and she has amazing family and friends ready to help in any way they can.

Until next time — Cindy

 

Leave a Reply

