weekly prints [photography class edition]

I’ll be honest, I’ve been working on a post about our vacation to Orlando (from last year) for about 2 weeks.  I have everything typed out – for the most part – but I haven’t found the time (or taken the time I have found) to finish it.  And I keep getting distracted.  The dog, home groups starting again, visitors, blah blah blah.  I’ll get around to it!

But I was browsing some blogs recently, totally inspired by the photography class Rachele and I a couple weekends ago (read a snippet about that at the end of this post), and I ran across/came up with the idea to do a weekly post with the pictures I take during the week.  I’ve been doing High Five for Friday posts for a year (we started this little blog a whole entire year ago) and I’ve been thinking of ways to change it up a bit.  And since I’ve been bitten by the photography bug, what better way to modify my weekly post than by focusing on pictures!  I figure I’ll take several pictures during the week, hopefully of similar things I would normally include in my High Five posts, and then post 5-10 pictures in one post during the week.

I hope this will challenge me to use my camera more.  I’ve been reading several blogs that focus on photography (I recently read this post about non-technical photography tips, I check in often to this blog for beautiful pictures [and words], I saw that the Pioneer Woman has a photography section on her blog [even though she hasn’t posted there in awhile], I very recently found this blog, I’ve often referenced this blog’s photography section for tips and tricks, and there are some others as well).  And I’m all about capturing the everyday goings-on to help me improve my photography skills (if you could even call them skills. haha.).

The main thing I keep hearing (from the blogs above and the photography class) is “Don’t be afraid to take the picture!”  I’m taking these pictures for myself and for my family; to hang on our walls and to remember those moments.  I’m not trying to get my picture on the cover of a magazine and I’m not entering a competition.  Also, I don’t want to spend much any time editing my pictures.  That sounds like I’m putting a lot of pressure on myself to get the shot perfect but, to be honest, I don’t have Photoshop or Lightroom and I don’t plan on purchasing them either.  Editing seems more daunting than getting my settings right from the get-go so most (if not all) of my pictures will be straight-out-of-the-camera.

I’m going to call this series “Prints”, playing off of the good-ole’-days when pictures had to printed!  So for my first set of weekly pictures, I’m just going to use the pictures I took during our photography class.  Have a look!

photography class

^we learned a new technique called ‘panning’

photography class

^practicing depth-of-field to get those pine needles blurry but the pine cone in focus

photography class

^white balance set to sunny – colors are correct

photography class

^white balance still set to cloudy – colors seem orange-ish

photography class

^not a shot I meant to take but I learned that I have a B&W setting!

I’m kind of really excited about this weekly series so I just might whip up another post with the pictures that I’ve taken since our photography class!

Until next time — Cindy

*all images are original to A View from the Shore

Leave a Reply

