Turkey Days Past

I’ve always been the person that celebrates Thanksgiving in its entirety before I think about anything Christmas related.  But for some reason, the thought of Christmas has been tugging at me for a few weeks.  I can’t shake it!  We put our tree up the day/weekend after Thanksgiving because I’ve always been such a stickler of celebrating Thanksgiving completely, and we’ll do the same thing this year, but I’ve secretly been listening to Christmas music at work.  Gasp! I know!

Thanksgiving has always been my favorite holiday.  The whole family gathering together, devouring good food, and playing board games well into the evening.  Nobody fusses about decorations or worries about gifts.  It’s just family, food and being thankful for it all.

So in the spirit of THANKSGIVING, I thought I’d share what we did for our first 3 married Thanksgivings.

Our first Thanksgiving – Just the 2 of us, 2 weeks after our wedding!  We made our own turkey, side dishes, and desserts (waaaay to much of everything but leftovers for daaaays).  We played card games and board games all evening long (Forest won all games of rummy…).  We took time to chat with our families.  It was lovely.

Our second Thanksgiving – a trip back to Indiana!  We spent our second married Thanksgiving back in Indiana.  We did a mini-thanksgiving dinner at my parent’s house a few days before turkey day (Forest and I, my parents, the in-laws, my grandma, and Forest’s grandparents).  We met our college friends for dinner one evening.  Thanksgiving day was split – Forest’s side in the morning/early afternoon, my side for the late afternoon/evening.  And before we left, we helped both of our families decorate for Christmas.

Our third Thanksgiving – we hosted Forest’s family.  Forest’s parents and sister came out for Thanksgiving last year.  We made enough food for approximately 25 people (I’m only exaggerating a little) but it was all sooo yummy.  And we played board games well into the evening.  It was wonderful.

And this year it’s back to the 2 of us.  Plus Indie.  And baby. :)

We were invited to a couple’s house for dinner but, hopefully without sounding rude, we declined.  As weird as it may sound (since we love being surrounded by family on Thanksgiving) we like the little traditions we’ve made and having time to chat with both of our families throughout the day.  We got most of our ingredients for our Turkey-day dinner.  Forest still needs to get a recipe from his grandma if he wants to have dessert this year.

And just like that, I’m sooooo excited about Thanksgiving. It’s going to be great!

Happy Thanksgiving from us to all of you!

Until next time — Cindy

Leave a Reply

