Stop rushing

I laid in bed the other night, wheels spinning, when Forest asked me what was on my mind.  The baby had been asleep for a couple hours at this point and while she was in bed I unloaded and re-loaded the dishwasher, washed a few pans, folded some clothes (that I had been sitting in the dryer for 2 days), and just crawled into bed later than I had planned but I was still thinking of all the things I needed to do.  I sighed and told Forest I didn’t know how any ‘house stuff’ would get done once I start back at work.  I’ll want to spend my evenings with Peyton, not washing dishes, sweeping the floors, or folding laundry.  And Forest just simply said “It will get done.  We might have to stay up later and not get as much sleep but we’ll get it done.”

Today I was reading a blog and one of her recent posts said

“…stop rushing to get the to do list done because it never leaves. The kids do.”

and just like that I’m reminded (for the second time in a week) that the to-do list and ‘house stuff’ will get done eventually.  They won’t all get done and once and there will be layers of dust on some shelves and food crumbs on the kitchen floor for awhile and dog hair on the couch because I’ll be spending my time with my family.  I don’t even want to think about Peyton growing up and moving out because I know we have plenty of time before we have to worry about that.  But I’ll be listening to her babble, anxiously waiting for her to roll over, making funny faces so I can see her smile, going on family walks, reading bedtime stories, and rocking her to sleep instead of making sure the house is clean.

Needless to say, our house isn’t always clean, the clothes aren’t always folded, and I haven’t been posting a lot of stuff recently but we’re making memories over here (as evidenced by this compilation of phone pictures).

IMAG3652

IMAG3683

IMAG3735

IMAG3738

IMAG3750

IMAG3793

IMAG3875

IMAG3885

IMAG3909

IMAG3916

IMAG3919

Until next time — Cindy

*All images are original to A View from the Shore.

Leave a Reply

