Peyton – 5 months

Oh my.  Our baby girl is 5 months old already!  This time last year we were surprising our families with the news that we were expecting and here we are hanging out with a 5 month old in our arms.  Every month I think to myself “This is the best age so far” and it hasn’t changed now.  Peyton is developing such a personality and she’s more observant than ever.  She’s always just looked around and watched people but even more so now.

Peyton-5 months (7)

Peyton-5 months (4)

Peyton-5 months (3)

Peyton-5 months (2)

Peyton-5 months (1)

LIKES:

-Blowing bubbles/raspberries (as captured in the first picture)

-Her hands

-Watching Indie run back and forth across the room

-Hanging out in the jumper

-Ms. Tamika (a teacher in her room at daycare)

DISLIKES:

-Having her nose cleaned (can you blame her?!)

THINGS WE DON’T WANT TO FORGET:

-At the beginning of the month she started yelling a high-pitched yell.  I never knew what she wanted but she usually took a nap soon after so apparently that was her way of telling me she was sleepy.

-she experienced a lot of ‘firsts’ this month:  Trip to the pumpkin patch, grocery shopping, apple picking, sleeping un-swaddled, day at daycare, head cold, carving pumpkins, Halloween,

-We put her to bed with her arms un-swaddled for the first time this month.  The Dr said most babies stop being swaddled around 3 months but here we were, well into 4 months and still swaddling her for bedtime.  She never fought it so we just kept swaddling!  She did great un-swaddled though.  She did start to whine a little in the middle of the night but eventually put herself right back to sleep.

-Peyton started daycare this month.  Forest and I dropped her off on her first day, October 20th.  I had cried all the tears the night before so I didn’t cry that morning.  I was sad, of course, but held it together so I wouldn’t look like a hot-mess at work all day.  Plus I knew I’d be visiting her during my lunch break.  Which I did!  One of the teachers was hanging her first ‘artwork’ on the wall and the other teachers said she was doing great!  The report at the end of the day said she fits right in with all of her new friends.  She only took a couple 20-30 minute naps but there was so much to see, she didn’t want to miss out.  I picked her up a little after 5 and she was asleep and slept most of the way home.  She looked absolutely exhausted all evening but wasn’t fussy.  She nursed at 7:30 and fell asleep so I woke her up to burp and she was right back to sleep.  She stayed asleep while I put her in the sleep-sack and didn’t even need me to rock her to sleep…

-I haven’t missed a day visiting her during lunch.  That time is just so precious for me.  I know she knows who I am but I don’t think she would necessarily miss me if I didn’t visit during lunch but I hope that she enjoys those 45 minutes as much as I do.  Most of the time she naps while I hold her (even after a couple weeks she isn’t napping very long during the day) but there are other days that she’s completely awake and alert so we chat and blow bubbles and look out the windows.

-We have a really good routine down for in the mornings now too.  I get up before Peyton, 5:30 at the latest, so I can get ready (hair & makeup) and usually just as I’m finishing I hear Peyton starting to wake up.  She jabbers a little bit and I can hear her sucking on her hands.  I go in the nursery and say “Good morning baby girl” and I can just make out the biggest smile on her face.  I change her diaper and she nurses and we’re usually done by 6:30 when we go wake up daddy and say good morning to Indie.  Daddy gets up and picks out her outfit and changes her while I get dressed myself.  [I LOVE listening to Peyton talk to Forest while he changes her in the mornings.  Sometimes he’s still sleepy, especially if he was up late doing school work the night before, so he isn’t always so chatty but Peyton just talks his ear off.]  And then we all meet in the kitchen (Indie too because she’s ready to go out by then) while I prepare bottles, Forest packs my lunch and Peyton plays in the jumper.  Most mornings Peyton decides to poop while she’s in the jumper and recently those poops have been exceptionally messy so Forest has to pick out another outfit and get her changed again..  I get all of the bags packed (I seriously have 4-5 bags to pack) while Forest puts Peyton’s jacket and hat on and gets her in the car seat and we’re out the door by 7:20.

-Peyton got her first cold this month.  I blame the kiddos at the daycare, of course.  She started with a runny nose on Saturday 10/24 and by Sunday she had a small cough and a runny/stuffy nose.  I guess she’ll have many opportunities to build up her immune system.

-We had 1 night during the start of her cold that she didn’t want to sleep unless she was being held.  I rocked her for 45 minutes after she nursed in the evening to make sure she was asleep and as soon as I laid her in the crib she was crying so I started over with 45-60 minutes of rocking and into the crib and she started crying.  Forest brought the bassinet into her room so we could elevate her head to help with the stuffy nose but she didn’t want to be on her back at all.  He stayed up with her for several hours trying different things to get her to stay asleep – rocking in the bassinet, sitting in the swing, etc. – but she only wanted to be held.  After a while I switched with Forest so he could try to sleep.  I got Peyton to sleep in the swing as I held her hand and shushed.  I slept on the couch for a little bit until she started to cry again so I held her until it was time for me to get ready for work.  I felt so bad for her because I know she wasn’t feeling well…. Thankfully it was only the one night.

-Peyton’s school had a Halloween costume parade the day before Halloween.  We packed her Colts cheerleader outfit as her costume.  I went over just before it started at 3 and waited with the other parents/family in the parking lot.  Soon after 3, the parade started with the oldest kids and ended with the babies in the stroller.  Peyton looked like a little grump in the stroller but her teacher later told me they had to wake her up from a long nap and she wasn’t happy about it.  I stayed and played with her until my ‘lunch hour’ was up.  She was seriously the cutest little cheerleader!

-Peyton celebrated her first Halloween this year!  We dressed her in a 101 Dalmatian’s onesie/hoodie while she helped us pass out candy before bedtime.  Maybe next year we’ll take her trick or treating around the neighborhood.

Until next time — Cindy

*All images are original to A View from the Shore

Leave a Reply

