I want to remember

It’s occurred to me lately that maybe the smallest life moments are the ones I want to preserve the most.  Because down the road, I’ll probably remember the big life moments! it’ll be easier to recall the larger, more spectacular things.  And I’ve already captured those moments with the camera and shared those times on the blog.  Of course I will have my camera with me for capturing all of the big, fun, spectacular things!  But it’s so easy to forget the everyday things, because they seem so normal and routine…

but it all changes so quickly!

Dear Forest,

As we’re getting closer to the end of the year, I wanted to write down a few things that I want to remember about this time in our lives.

I want to remember…

You saying “good morning baby!” to Peyton as me and her descend on your sleep at 6:30 most mornings.

Peyton’s huge, whole-face smile when you get her out of the car seat in the evenings.

Tag-teaming in the middle of the night because the baby is teething.

You changing Peyton out of her PJ’s in the morning.  And then changing her outfit when she has a blow-out or a massive spit-up incident.

How you always choose ‘One fish, two fish, red fish, blue fish’ when you read to Peyton in the evenings.

The first time you wore Peyton in the carrier as I scampered across the roof hanging Christmas lights.

And how you laughed at me when I cautiously climbed the ladder to the highest parts of the house.

How you make me make decisions.  Like if I want to get the small JOY sign or the big JOY sign for the front yard.  And what color sharpie paint pens I should buy.

That you’re ok with a date night of untangling Christmas lights by the fireplace after the baby goes to bed.  And that you’ll make cookies and pour milk for us to enjoy on our date.

That you’re tired of picking up pillow stuffing every day.  Indie will learn.  Just be patient.

That you plan ahead better than me.  Like realizing we’ll have a lot to pack when we head back to IN after Christmas and that we can just ask my parents or Leon & Shelby to borrow a stroller instead of lugging our big one that will take up 90% of our cargo space.

And that you’ve been ON TOP OF IT with Christmas shopping this year!

That we agree that less is more when it comes to gifts for Peyton.  Quality > Quantity.

But that you’re all about the DIY gifts for her (and Chansler) and you’ll help me in the process!

That you’ve finished another semester of classes and your thismuch closer to finishing your master’s degree!  You say you’re taking a really tough class next semester but I believe you’ll make it through.  [and I pray for you to have confidence, patience, and endurance.  I’m so proud of you!]

PAYING OFF MY STUDENT LOANS!  Yay us for doing that in just under 4 years!!  Good-bye, see-ya later, adios, and goodnight!

That your recliner cuddles with Indie have oftentimes turned into recliner cuddles with Peyton and Indie finds her way up there too.

Your leadership.  Not only with our family but in our home group as well.

Your humor.  Oh, you’re just the funniest there ever was and I love you so much for your constant entertainment.

That you make me cook dinner on the weekends because you cook dinner during the week.  Fair enough.  But you’re still a better cook than me.

That when we arrive at whatever destination we’re going to and hop out of the car, we both know what the other is doing.  You always grab Peyton in the car seat and I always grab the stroller.

That you’ve been sick more than me this fall.  I blame the kids at daycare!  I’ll keep reminding you to take medicine but please, oh please don’t give me those germs.

I love you so much, my dear husband.  So much is changing and we don’t even realize it.  We’re experiencing life, we’re raising a family, we’re doing life and you are the perfect guy to have by my side.

Until next time — Cindy

 

 

Leave a Reply

