Thoughts on Thursday – 3.24.2016

Grandpa & Grandma J are on their way to visit!  They’ll be here for the week and we’re so excited to have them!

I recently read this post that was focused on how the author got her babies to sleep but the take-away was the last line – But know this: the stress of not meeting your parenting expectations is often more exhausting than the sleep deprivation itself.  And it made question – why the heck do I put so much pressure on myself?!  It is absolutely ok to ask for advice from fellow mommies to see how things worked for them but if it doesn’t work for us, I need to move on and figure out what does.  I need to lower my expectations and make sure my baby and my family (including myself!) are healthy and happy.

At Christmas we told ourselves less is more in regards to gifts for Peyton.  Fast-forward 3 months and I think I pushed that little voice to the waaaaaaaaaaay back of my mind because we probably bought way too much for Peyton’s Easter basket and recently reading this article reminded me why we said less is more in the first place – “…having too much stuff, too many choices, too much information and too much speed.”

I’ve been reading this book that I mentioned several weeks ago and I’m feeling motivated to tidy up our little abode!

Speaking of our little abode – we “celebrated” owning our home for 2 years over the weekend.

Forest bought tickets to this concert (Dashboard Confessional is our jam!) that will be in our area this summer!  He was willing to buy tickets off the black market if they were sold out during the pre-sale.  Thankfully, it didn’t come to that and we were able to get good seats.

Daycare is closed tomorrow – Good Friday – for ‘spring break’ so I’ll be spending the day with Peyton!!  We have a play date planned in the morning and Grandpa & Grandma J will be here in the afternoon.

And since I won’t be back until after the weekend, Happy Easter – He is Risen!  He is Risen, indeed!

Until next time — Cindy

Leave a Reply

