Starfish story

Forest and I have heard this starfish story TWICE in one day and I don’t think it’s a coincidence.

The first time was at church Sunday morning as an elder was talking about the movie he produced coming to theaters October 7!

The second time was later that afternoon while we watched a recorded episode of Girl Meets World.

“One day a man was walking along the beach when he noticed a boy picking something up and gently throwing it into the ocean.  Approaching the boy, he asked, “What are you doing?”  The youth replied, “Throwing starfish back into the ocean.  The surf is up and the tide is going out.  If I don’t throw them back, they’ll die.”  “Son”, the man said, “don’t you realize there are miles and miles of beach and hundreds of starfish?  You can’t make a difference!”  After listening politely, the boy bent down, picked up another starfish, and threw it back into the surf.  Then, smiling at the man, he said, “I made a difference for that one.” ”  –Loren Eiseley

The elder at our church was discussing abortion and pro-life.  The episode of Girl Meets World used the story in comparison to picking up litter on a beach.  What are we doing that is making a difference in someone else’s life?  What am I doing to make a difference?!

As I said above, I don’t think it’s a coincidence that I heard the same story twice in one day.  I think God is asking more of me and I am opening my heart to His guidance.  It’s been on my heart to get involved with a ministry at church so I’ll be looking into immediate needs to serve but I have a burden for hospitality as well.  I don’t know in what capacity but I’ve always wanted to have our home be open to everyone, for it to have a revolving door with people coming and going.  Forest and I are homebodies.  I think we would both admit to preferring to stay home by ourselves than put ourselves out there or welcome people into our home.  Maybe this story is the nudge I’ve been needing to take the step to opening our doors wide and blessing others!

Until next time — Cindy

Leave a Reply

