Progress Report | Peyton’s Big Girl Room

We moved Peyton out of the nursery at the end of March.  She’s now in what was the guest room but is now her big girl room!  It’s bigger than the nursery – more room for her toys and playing! – and it’s farther away from our room – which makes no difference, really, because I think our walls are made of paper.

I was completely against the idea of moving Peyton at first.  We decorated that room for her and I didn’t want to take it away from her.  But the idea of having a baby in a bigger room didn’t make sense.  So I agreed it would be best to move her.  I was nervous she wouldn’t transition well (I was dreading multiple middle of the night wake ups) but she didn’t have a single problem.

We talked about it for a couple weeks as we worked to clean out the guest room to make way for her things.  We told her it was going to be her new room because she’s a big girl now and gets to have a bigger room.  And she “helped” move her crib and all of her toys and clothes.  Even before she was officially sleeping in there she would go to that room when we would ask her to take something to her room.  So cute!

And now that’s she’s been in there a few weeks, she loves it.  It’s still not done.  We have pictures to hang and I want to make a cute canvas for her (from an idea I saw at Hobby Lobby) but it’s getting there.

Here’s our blank slate:

20170326-IMG_2086

20170326-IMG_2088

20170326-IMG_2089

^Forest painted the bookcase white and the back a light pink.

20170326-IMG_2090

20170326-IMG_2092

And this is where we are as of last week:

20170404-IMG_2245

20170404-IMG_2248

20170404-IMG_2250

20170404-IMG_2251

20170404-IMG_2252

^We didn’t paint the inside of the closet when we bought our house and painted this room and surprisingly, I really like it for Peyton’s room.  It goes well with the LOVE art print that came from the nursery.

20170404-IMG_2255

20170404-IMG_2258

^We already had the bean bag chair and I’ve since made a huge cushion (see below) for that corner – her reading corner – and she loves it!

Sewing project number 2 is finished! A huge floor pillow/cushion for a reading corner in Peyton's new room! I'm on the hunt for coordinating fabric to make a few pillows, too. 04.08.2017 #Peyton #sewingprojects #madebymama

You saw the pictures frames on her bookcase that need hung. And the wall that has her light switch (to the left of the closet) is completely blank so I’d like to add something cute and fun that ties everything together with the pink/orange vibe that’s going on.  We’ll see how long it takes me to finish decorating but I plan to be back with a WE’RE DONE post before Peyton’s 2nd birthday.  That gives me 2 months!

Funny little story – I was very much against pink when Peyton was a baby.  I didn’t want everything pink just because she’s a girl.  I leaned more towards the coral side than straight pink.  But now that we’ve been working on her big girl room, I’m drawn to the light pinks and blush colors.  Who would have known!

Until next time — Cindy

*All images are original to A View from the Shore

Leave a Reply

